Links for Children

Find a Great Book:

Best Children's Books:  http://www.the-best-childrens-books.org

Site by teachers for teachers and parents looking for children's books to help you quickly and easily find the ideal book for any topic and reading level. They don't include ALL the books on a given topic, just the award winning, highly rated books.

Caldecott Winners: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/caldecottmedal/caldecottmedal

Newberry Medal Winners: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/newberymedal/newberymedal

Iowa Children's Choice Award: http://www.iowacenterforthebook.org/awards/recipients-iowa-children-choice

Resources for Teachers:

Defined STEM: http://www.definedstem.com/

Username: zstier Password: oliver10

*Access to this site provided through a grant from the  Governor's STEM Advisory Council.*

Scholastic Book Wizard: http://www.scholastic.com/bookwizard/

Teaching Books: http://www.teachingbooks.net/

Username: Iowa Password: Public

American Association of School Librarians best web-sites for teaching and learning:

http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/best-websites

Early Literacy Websites:

Reading Rockets: http://www.readingrockets.org/

Get Ready to READ: http://www.getreadytoread.org/

Story Blocks: http://www.storyblocks.org/

Reading Websites:

The following are links to great websites that provide important information about the development of reading, practice skills such as the alphabet, and the overall spectrum of child development.

The Reading Pyramid: http://www.reading-skills-pyramid.org/index.htm

Early Childhood News: http://www.earlychildhoodnews.com/page2.aspx

KidZone Reading Corner Book Lists: http://www.slcolibrary.org/kidzone/kzrc/rcBooklists.htm

PBS Kids (Child Development): http://www.pbs.org/parents/child-development

March Book Madness 2016: http://marchbookmadness.weebly.com/

Accelerated Reading:

Attention families and teachers: The following is the Acceleraed Reading (AR) website: http://www.arbookfind.com